Big Little Book Award 2020

Integrated Child Protection Scheme

Subhadra Sen Gupta, and Rajiv Eipe, were honored with the Big Little Book Award 2020 for their significant contribution, through their books and illustrations, to Indian children’s literature.

Being the fifth edition of the Big Little Book Award this year; the chosen language this year was English. In the previous years, the award considered children’s literature in Hindi, Marathi, Bengali, and Kannada only.

Sen Gupta has authored the following popular books,

  • The Constitution of India for Children,
  • The Secret Diary of the World’s Worst Cook,
  • History Mystery Dal Biryani,
  • Let’s Go Time Traveling, and
  • Girls of India? A Mauryan Adventure

Eipe’s illustrations have mesmerized children in titles, like Dive, Pishi and Me, Ammachi’s Amazing Machines, Oh No! Not Again!, Dinosaur as Long as 127 Kids.

The total number of nominations received this year was 318. Winners were selected based on the quality of their body of work by jury members.

About the Big Little Book Award

The was introduced in 2016 by Parag to recognize and honor the significant contribution of authors and illustrators to children’s literature in Indian language(s). The award since its inception is given under two categories – author and illustrator/artist. Every year, one Indian language is chosen for awarding an author.

The Big Little Book Award aims to create a platform for young readers, parents, schools, publishers, and other stakeholders to meet and read the work of authors/illustrators. The goal is to ensure every child experiences the joys of reading and reading good children’s books.

To know more about the Big Little Book Award 2020 please click here. | Read more ‘General‘ news on