What we can learn about BRICS Member Countries

BRICS Member Countries

BRICS Member Countries are Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. This years BRICS Summit will be chaired by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi on 9 September 2021 in virtual format.

The meeting will be attended by the President of Brazil, H.E. Mr. Jair Bolsonaro; President of Russia, H.E. Mr. Vladimir Putin; President of China, H.E. Mr. Xi Jinping; and President of South Africa, H.E. Mr. Cyril Ramaphosa. India’s National Security Adviser, Shri Ajit Doval, President of the New Development Bank, Mr. Marcos Troyjo, the pro tempore chair of the BRICS Business Council, Shri Onkar Kanwar and pro tempore Chair of the BRICS Women’s Business Alliance, Dr. Sangita Reddy, will present reports on the outcomes pursued this year under their respective tracks to the Leaders during the Summit.

BRICS 2021 Theme

The theme for the Summit is ‘BRICS@15: Intra-BRICS cooperation for continuity, consolidation, and consensus’. India had outlined four priority areas for its Chairship. These are Reform of the Multilateral System, Counter-Terrorism, Using Digital and Technological Tools for achieving SDGs, and Enhancing People to People exchanges. In addition to these areas, the leaders will also exchange views on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and other current global and regional issues.

This is the second time Prime Minister Modi will be chairing the BRICS Summit. Earlier he had chaired the Goa Summit in 2016. The Indian Chairship of BRICS this year coincides with the fifteenth anniversary of BRICS, as reflected in the theme for the Summit.

Click here to visit the BRICS India website.

Knowledge Bite: What can students learn about BRICS?

1. BRICS is the acronym for BRICS Member Countries: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.
2. The first BRICS summit was held on 16 June 2009 in Yekaterinburg, Russia.
3. This year marks the 15th anniversary of BRICS, while the 13th BRICS Summit.
4. BRICS headquarter is in Shanghai, China.
5. India hosted BRICS Summit in 2012 (4th), 2016 (8th), and 2021 (13th).
6. Dr. Manmohan Singh was the first Prime Minister to attended the first BRIC Summit in Yekaterinburg on 16 June 2009.
6. South Africa first time attended the BRICS Summit in the 2011. It was in 2010 the BRIC members agreed to invite South Africa to join BRIC.

Read more ‘General‘ news on dailyschoolsnews.com.