ISRO Young Scientist Programme 2020

Young Scientist Programme 2020

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) has launched a programme for School Children called “Young Scientist Programme 2020” “YUva VIgyani KAryakram” (युविका) from the year 2019. The second session of the programme is scheduled to be held during the month of May 2020.

The special program is primarily aimed at imparting basic knowledge on Space Technology, Space Science and Space Applications to the younger ones with the intent of arousing their interest in the emerging areas of Space activities. The program is thus aimed at creating awareness amongst the youngsters who are the future building blocks of our Nation. ISRO has chalked out this programme to “Catch them young”.

The programme is going to be of 2 weeks during the summer holidays (May 11-22, 2020) and the schedule will include invited talks, experience sharing by the eminent scientists, facility and lab visits, exclusive sessions for discussions with experts, practical and feedback sessions.

3 students each from each State/ Union Territory will be selected to participate in this programme covering CBSE, ICSE and State syllabus. 5 additional seats are reserved for OCI candidates across the country.

The selection will be done through online registration. The online registration will be open from February 03 to 24, 2020. Those students who have finished 8th standard and currently studying in 9th standard (in the academic year 2019-20) are eligible for the programme. Students who are studying in India including OCI (Overseas Citizen of India) are eligible for the programme. The selection is based on the 8th Standard academic performance and extracurricular activities. ISRO has released the selection criteria, and interested candidates should read it before applying.

Interested students who are interested for Young Scientist Programme 2020, click here to read the complete news.

To read ‘Science & Technology’ news, please click here.

Do you know who was the first captain of the Indian cricket team?

The first Captain for the Indian Test team is Mr. CK Nayudu (1932–1934) whereas the first Captain for the Indian ODI team is Mr. Ajit Wadekar (1974).